Earlier to 1969 there was no separate Agricultural University. Academic programmes on agricultural sciences were offered under the umbrella of Nagpur University. It was felt by the political, social, and the educationist persons to have independent identity of Agricultural University for this Vidarbha region. The people of this region came out to agitate for creating this separate identity of Agricultural University. During the agitations many people have sacrificed their life. And finally the university called Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth was established with its head quarter at Akola. The University employees and people of this region salutes those persons who have sacrificed their life for establishment of the Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola. In the memory of those martyrs the University has constructed a “Memorial Pillar” in Akola campus of the University.


Late Narendra Deshmukh

Late Suresh Bhadke

Late Bhirumal Rizumal

Late Suresh Kurhe

Late Gajanan Deoghare

Late Nemichand Gopal

Late Suresh Wankhede

Late Sheikh Rafiq

Late Prafulchand Kothari

Dr. PDKV Hutatma Pillar

Hit Counter provided by laptop reviews